Member Awards

The Society for Technical Communication and the Rochester Chapter of STC have a program of awards to recognize the contributions of volunteers at the chapter and Society levels. Each of these awards is described on this page: Rochester Chapter Rookie of the Year Award; Rochester Chapter Barbara Knight Award; Rochester Chapter President’s Award; STC Distinguished Chapter Service Award.

Rochester Chapter Rookie of the Year Award

In 1997, the Rochester Chapter initiated the Rookie of the Year Award. The purpose of the award is to recognize a first-time volunteer who has made the largest contribution for the year.

The recipient may be a new member, or a longer-term member who has volunteered for the first time. The award may be given to a member who holds elected office, or who is appointed to serve on the Council or a committee. Only one award is presented each year. Past winners include:

Sarah Rowe, Program Manager (2019)
Stephani Clark, Program Manager (2018)
Johanne Lavallée, Secretary (2017)
Beth Fischi, Vice President and Spectrum co-chair (2016)
No award given (2015)
Katie Bush, Treasurer (2014)
Wendy Barnhart Ross, Vice President and Spectrum co-chair (2013)
Doug Eaton, Tech Pubs Manager (2012)
Lisa Pietrangeli, Member at Large (2011)
Debbie Stellrecht, Spectrum Committee Member (2010)
Stephany Fuchs, Spectrum Committee Member (2009)
Merridith Smith, Tech Pubs Manager (2008)
Liz Lukaszewski (2007)
Pat Scanlon, Education Chair (2006)
Linda Beattie, spectrum Registrar (2005)
Joseph Uhal, Treasurer (2004)
Stephanie Bazinet, Web Team Leader (2003)
Sandy Glanton, Program Manager (2002)
Sara Molyneux, Membership Manager (2001)
Lorraine Baker, Program Manager (2000)
Ellen Loughrin, Public Relations Manager (1999)
Martha Ewbank, Public Relations Manager (1998)
Lisa Mayer, Program Manager (1997)

Rochester Chapter Barbara Knight Award

The Barbara Knight Award was established as a distinguished service award at the chapter level, and was presented to Barbara Knight for her great service to the Chapter. Subsequently the award was called “the most valuable member award.” With Barbara’s untimely passing in 1984, the award was named for her.

Traditionally the Barbara Knight Award is given to a member who does not hold an elected office. This is because Barbara Knight has been remembered primarily for service in non-elected roles. However, Barbara was the long-time recording secretary of the Chapter. Ordinarily only one award is presented each year. Past winners include:

Kim Chmielewicz (2019)
Marilyn Woelk (2018)
Meghan Palumbo (2017)
Ben Woelk (2016)
Jan Peartree (2015)
Melanie Blank (2014)
Kelly Schrank (2013)
Carmel Priore-Garlock (2012)
Estelle Holloway (2011)
Pam Greenfield (2010)
Lisa Moretto (2009)
Marilyn Woelk (2008)
Jennifer Ferris (2007)
Jan Peartree (2006)
Jane V. Grady (2005)
Katherine Porray and Louise Remington (2004)
Ann Pillman (2003)
Tanya Kuzylak (2002)
Amy Friend (2001)
Kathy Wise (2000)
Mary Boyd (1999)
Steve Ridley (1998)
Lori Marra (1997)
Laurie Pritchard and Paul Ferguson (1995)
Donna Cox (1991)
Ann L. Wiley (1990)
Kitty Aughey (1989)
Bruno Petrauskas (1983)
Andy Malcolm (1977 to 1978 STC year)
Barbara Knight (1976)
Sue Montano (1975)
Robert Bonnett (1973)
Russell Terry (1969)
Arnold Huehn (1968)
Christopher Celent (1965)
Ruth Terry (we believe; date unknown)
Bob Nelson (we believe; date unknown)
Bob White (former chapter president; we believe; date unknown)

We have no record for 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, or years before 1989 except as listed. We will add to this record as more information is discovered.

Carl E. Klug President’s Award

In 2004 the Rochester STC council named the President’s Award, for Carl E. Klug, its first recipient in 2002. Carl served the chapter as treasurer for two terms and volunteered for many other chapter activities. Everyone enjoyed working with Carl, a dependable and knowledgeable chapter member. His quiet competence impressed all who knew him and his understated sense of humor lifted our spirits.

The criteria for the award is established each year at the discretion of the Chapter President. Winners have been:

Roxy Greninger (2019)
Johanne Lavallée (2019)
Meghan Palumbo (2018)
Ann L. Wiley (2018)
Eilysh Haeger (2017)
Katie Bush (2016)
Kelly Schrank (2015)
Roberta (Bobbi) Werner (2014)
Estelle Holloway (2014)
Marilyn Woelk (2013)
Jackie Paterson (2013)
Rita Cronise (2012)
Lori Meyer (2011)
Ben Woelk (2010)
Stephanie Bazinet (2009)
Linda Beattie , Jennifer Ferris, Jane Grady, Anne McNelis, Jeff Mehr, Tom Moran, Barbara Thomas, Kathryn Wise (2008)
Amy Castronova, Steve McNair, Anne McNelis, Katherine Nagel, Jan Peartree (2007)
Doris Sturzenberger, Joe Uhal, Tom Moran (2006)
Lisa Moretto, Cheryl Schreiner, Jennifer M. Ferris, Ginny Skinner-Linnenberg, and Louise M. Remington (2005)
Sandra J. Swanson (2004), for her enthusiasm, sound advice, and support in every aspect of chapter activities.
Richard Poydock (2003), for distinguished service in implementing and managing our email lists.
Carl Klug (2002), for the highest standard of volunteerism and sustained and significant contributions to the chapter.

STC Distinguished Chapter Service Award

The Distinguished Chapter Service Award (DCSA) is presented by the Board of STC. The Council of each chapter can nominate candidates each year. The number of nominees allowed from a chapter depends on the size of the chapter. The DCSA committee reviews the nominees and submits those approved to the Board for consideration. The Board reviews the nominees and determines which nominees will win the award.

Not every chapter nominates candidates each year. Sometimes there are no members who meet the criteria for the award. Criteria include length and variety of service to the chapter. Nominees are also expected to have contributed throughout the time they have been members.

Because not all nominees are approved by the committee and the Board, the Council does not disclose the names of the nominees.

The Distinguished Chapter Service Award was initiated in 1989. Winners from the Rochester Chapter include:

Roberta (Bobbi) Werner (2018)
Carmel Piore-Garlock (2017)
Kelly Schrank (2017)
Wendy Barnhart Ross (2016)
Melanie Blank (2016)
Estelle Holloway (2015)
Marilyn Woelk (2014)
Ben Woelk (2013)
Kathy Porray (2012)
Jan Peartree (2011)
Lisa Moretto (2010)
Lori Meyer (2009)
Sandra J. Swanson (2005)
Paul Ferguson (2003)
Donna Cox (2003)
Kathy Wise (2002)
Amy Friend (2002)
Mary Boyd (2000)
Lori Marra (1999)
Kitty Aughey (1993)
Ann L. Wiley (1992)
Jim Morrow (1991)
Loretta Albert (1989)
Jean Doremus (1989)

STC Associate Fellow and Fellow grades of membership

STC Associate Fellows are senior members who have been recognized for their service to STC and to technical communication. Nominations are made by a Society-level nominating committee and the grade of membership is awarded by the STC Board. Criteria include length and caliber of service to the profession and to STC.

Associate Fellows in the Rochester Chapter are:

Marilyn Woelk (2019)
Kelly Schrank (2018)
Ben Woelk (2017)
Roberta (Bobbi) Werner (2017)
Amy Friend (2008)
Lori Marra (2007)
Kitty Aughey
Bob Nelson

Fellows are members of STC who have made distinguished contributions to both the Society and the profession. Fellows are nominated by a Society-level nominating committee. Only Associate Fellows are eligible for nomination, which is based on review of credentials submitted optionally by the Associate Fellows themselves.

Fellows in the Rochester Chapter are:
Lori Meyer (2015)
Ann L. Wiley (2006)

The late Andy Malcolm, Fran Sullivan, Russell Terry, and Ruth Terry were Fellows.